TED Talks About Sustainability, Agriculture, Gardening, and (duh) Food

I have mixed feelings about TED Talks. I think they can be generally inaccesible because of ticket prices and locations (that problem is being addressed via YouTube videos, which is an improvement). I think they can be a bit biased (I have yet to find anything aruging for genetically engineered foods). I also think they cater towards a more “educated” set of people (I also think “educated” is relative). I find that some speakers are just flat out super pleased with themselves.

However, I also think they’re interesting. I think it would be an interesting experiment to use the talks in schools to facilitate discussions in class. I think it would be interesting to show one to your family to make holiday dinners even more tense (but at least the arguments are less personal). I think they make you think.

Here are a couple that I’ve watched recently that I have my own opinions about. I won’t share them because, let’s be honest, this isn’t the place for my opinions. But you might like some of them. Or hate some of them. It’s up to you and your brain.

Jennifer 8. Lee hunts for General Tso (If you watch any of these, watch this one. It’s fantastic.)

Dan Barber’s foie gras parable

(Let me stop here and give you the link to the food category on the TED talks website. I don’t want to post them all here, although there are many.)

Homaro Cantu + Ben Roche: Cooking as alchemy

Roger Doiron: My subversive (garden) plot

Britta Riley: A garden in my apartment

Ellen Gustafson: Obesity + Hunger = 1 global food issue

Michael Pollan gives a plant’s-eye view

http://video.ted.com/assets/player/swf/EmbedPlayer.swf

Paul Stamets on 6 ways mushrooms can save the world

Birke Baehr: What’s wrong with our food system (There’s not a whole ton of science in this one, I just thought it was cool that an 11-year-old has such a strong opinion about the way he eats)


I’m going to stop here. Not because I’ve run out of videos to share, but because there are tons of videos to share and I don’t want to list them all. Here’s the Tags page on the website. Use that to filter what you look at.

Keep eating and asking, my friends.

Esther

Leave a Reply

